What I’ve been up to: UPS, Insane people, Flying robots, and Space Cockpits


So, Looking at the date for my last post it’s been 10 days since I’ve posted, yes, 10 days! So I wanted to write up this post to tell you all what i’ve been up to. But first I wish to preface this post by saying that I actually have been doing 3d design, I haven’t been lounging around playing my space sim… well, not the whole time at least πŸ˜› I also want to say this post is sure to be very random and disconnected because, sadly, I have a bad case of UPS (unfinished project syndrome, not united postal service). Yes, it’s true! I am one of those kind of people that changes projects as often as most people change shirts! My projects have covered a large area and I will try to post all the ones I can remember here, so sit back, relax, and enjoy!

Project 1: “The tube”

Do you all remember my post about ‘social games’ awhile back? Well, I’ve made one I’d like to distribute, it is running under the name ‘the tube’. The basic premise of the game is to avoid and or shoot asteroids and try to dodge platforms while gaining points. Sound fun?

 

 

 

 

Controls: Player 1: up, down, left, and right are the arrow keys, ctrl to fire

Controls: Player 2: up, down, left, and right are w, s, a, d, alt to fire

Shooting down asteroids and flying through tricky parts will get you extra points, you can also get a ton of points by hitting the white objects in the center of rings (be careful not to hit the ring itself though!), enjoy!

Note: The first time around, you will most likely crash. hit ‘r’ to restart it. It will probably take a bit to get the hang of it! Also, you can right-click the player and hit ‘go fullscreen’ to play in full screen mode.

Click this to play

 

 

Project 2: “Chili peppers Revamped”

A while ago I made a game ‘chili peppers’ that was basically a first-person-shooter where you had to gun down wheeled chili peppers, flying bananas, and an ironing board with a propeller, using candy. Truly a random game. A while ago I tried to revamp it. But, due to UPS, I abandoned it. I will show you some screenshots of what I had though:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Project 3: “Hover bots”

This project is another two player game in which you control hovering punch-robots who go around on an island punching things (including each other), collecting money and buying upgrades. A ton of fun, if you can get past how hard the robots are to control πŸ˜›

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Project 4: “The cockpit Project”

Inspired by Egosoft’s X2: The Threat, a game that had the cockpits of ships incorperated into their games, I made a texture sheet (see attached picture, the watermark wasn’t actually in the game, it’s just meant to ward off people stealing the texture sheet). And then modeled a cockpit! This one is one of the better projects i’ve done lately

Cockpit from X2: The Threat, my inspiration
Texture Sheet (Watermarked)
Interior
Exterior with wireframe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Project 5: Jack the Cosmic Creep

Haha, yes a strange title, but very befitting as my sculptris character looks like a total creep πŸ™‚ Well, you ought to see what I mean:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sorry if you are gonna have nightmares for the next 5 weeks πŸ™‚ So yes, I did get sculptris and have to say it’s a pretty awesome program! It is pretty fun too! I would recommend it to anyone who likes 3d but perhaps doesn’t like the technical side of 3d…

 

Project 6 [WIP]:

This is the one i’m currently working on. It is a first-person adventure game about a guy who has lost his mind and wants to find it again. The story is his quest to regain his sanity lol. This one may get UPSed as well πŸ˜› so without further ado here’s some pics:

Platforms

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Text inscriptions

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for reading, feel free to comment/ask questions about anything in this post! Hope you had as much fun reading this as I had making these projects! Also, I’d like to know if Im the only one suffering from UPS!

 

-Stopsecret Design

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

2 thoughts on “What I’ve been up to: UPS, Insane people, Flying robots, and Space Cockpits”

  1. Cool! All these projects are really amazing. I have way more UPS than you. Or maybe it’s just NSA (Never Starts Anything). My favorites are the chili peppers and the crazy lost his mind guy. I would really love to see these go somewhere. Good luck with your UPS!

    1. Ha ha ha

      Thanks! Yes, UPS is indeed sad, hopefully i’ll find a cure in the future πŸ™‚ yeah I think I have the reverse of NSA, STM (starts too much) seriously, i must go through at least three projects a week! You have more UPS than me? wow, and i thought mine was bad… πŸ˜›

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

