Cycles testing (Prejudices, Time, and Starry Night)


Ok, so I decided to take up learning how to use Cycles, Blenders latest rendering engine. I grabbed a copy, and tried rendering a watch this morning. I will first show you the ‘clay render’ (render with no materials) which was done in Blender internal:

Clay render

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, now you have a rough feel for the model itself. There’s another thing you need to know, I have tried Luxrender, Yafaray, and now Cycles, so I have had experience in external renderers before. I need to say that I am relatively new to Cycles, and as you will see in the rest of this post, confused/annoyed by using it.

Having used the Blender Internal for so long, I am quite used to it. I know all it’s tricks and can get it to act how I want it to, so naturally I have a little bit of a prejudice working against these external renderers. From nodes to rendering, I think Cycles has it’s pros and cons… However, at, I think it was 604 passes or so, this morning I came up with this rendering.

Cycles rendering

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, if you are a competent Cycles person, you may be sitting back in your chair laughing at this poor excuse for a rendering. No textures, terrible reflections, and the overall disgustingness of the rendering 🙂 Yes, I will admit this was one of my more terrible renders. Not only does it look bad, I think it took almost 50 minutes to render… What am I naming it? Well, besides trash, I’m naming it ‘starry night’ (yes, like the Van Gogh painting), because of those silly looking white specks on the glass that didn’t go away even after that many passes. This afternoon, I went at the watch thing again using Blender Internal. This is the result:

Blender Internal Watch Rendering

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ahhh… I love how it came out in Blender Internal… A nice break for my eyes after that abomination up there 🙂 So, what did I learn form this experience?

  1. I need a nice big space of time in which I can watch Cycles tutorials 🙂
  2. I need more practice
  3. I need to see if it really is possible to texture on this thing!
  4. I need to stops saying I need 😛
So I have decided to compile a pros and cons list for Cycles (note, this list may be inaccurate, for obvious reasons ;))
Pros:
  • Pretty reflections!
  •  You can instantly see a rough approximation of what the image will look like
  • More advanced shading then Blender Internal
  •  Light bounces
Cons:
  •  In My opinion, no render engine, I repeat, NO render engine should make it that hard to texture things.
  •  Seriously? 50 minutes? c’mon people! 😀
  •  What’s with the white specks?!
Haha, I hope you enjoyed my post, and hopefully I can come up with some better renders in the future! If you have any questions, comments, or just want to insult ‘starry night’, be sure to leave a comment below! 😛
-Stopsecret Design
Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

2 thoughts on “Cycles testing (Prejudices, Time, and Starry Night)”

    1. Yeah, Cycles is pretty good, although as you can tell from this post, I don’t recommend doing it without watching some tutorials, 😛 BlenderCookie has some good looking ones. Luxrender was pretty good too… It may be a bit outdated though… 🙂

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

