New Rendering + Tutorial


Hello All!

So, today I not only have a rendering to show you, but a short tutorial to go along with it. So, yesterday I worked on a spaceship design and came up with a result I’m pretty pleased with.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Click to enlarge)

So that is the main photo, showing two frigate sized (?) ships in space. The nebula was made from an image on my computer and mapped onto spheres in the rendering. Then I ran it through the compositor. At one point, a little something happened to the rendering 😛

 

 

 

 

 

Anyway, I suppose it’s cool if you’re into pink nebulas 🙂

So one thing that happened in this process was that I got a really cool effect on the icospheres near the top, if you could see them up close, it looks like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You get  these hexagonal sides on the icosphere, producing a spacey-dome look. So how did I get there?

1. Add an ico sphere

 

 

 

2. On the left side of the screen, set subdivisions to 3

 

 

3. Under the modifiers stack, give it a ‘bevel’ and set the width to something that looks good, in my case 0.0780

 

 

 

 

 

 

And there you go! Apply smooth shading, and you have the completed object:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hope you enjoyed this post and will be able to put the ico sphere trick to good use! Thanks for reading!

-Stopsecret Design

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

3 thoughts on “New Rendering + Tutorial”

  1. Great blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Kudos!

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

