Intergalactic Gas Pump


Yeah, strange title for a post… This post is about an animation I made from a concept drawing:

So, If you couldn’t tell, this is a spaceship at some kind of a refuelling station. Eventually, after a bunch of blending, I came up with a workable result:

I

think the animation looks pretty good… there are some things that I may want to improve on for next time though, i.e. better flames, Β also, the tubes aren’t quite animated exactly how I would like… Besides that, I hope you enjoy this short animation! (also, as another thing, I don’t think any of these textures came from CGTextures, I think they were all done in photoshop by me)

Another photo (slightly different):

Did you like it? Do you think I could improve on it any? I’d love to hear your thoughts, feel free to comment below!

-Stopsecret Design

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

8 thoughts on “Intergalactic Gas Pump”

  1. Excellent! I love the station’s design. How long did it take you?

    I don’t know if that’s what you meant with the tubes’ animation, but I think it feels like they just kind of lightly touch the ship, I think maybe if they actually got inside, or maybe make some corkscrew movement, it will feel more like refueling.

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you liked it! πŸ™‚ It probably took me about three hours maybe (?), to get the station done, not adding the time to render the animation, or edit the video. Yeah, it would have been cooler looking if the tubes kind of wormed into place like they had a mind of their own πŸ™‚

  2. I am thoroughly impressed! I was impressed before I watched the short video but then I was blown away! Great job Waylon Lathern, I’ve always had a interest in this sort of thing but never had the imagination or the knowledge to do it. πŸ˜›

  3. I can’t see the animation from work, but I check it out later.
    From the pictures that you have posted it looks great.
    However it lacks colour and the ship blends in with the station.
    I would give the fuel pipes a differnet colours to the griders.
    I would also change the matrial used for the lower half of the ship.
    Apart form that it looks great.

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

