Hand-Painting textures


Hello Readers, followers, and random visitors!

Today I would like to talk about hand-painted textures, and show some work I’ve been doing lately to that end. As you all probably know, there are somethings in 3d, and graphics design, that can be achieved through neat sets of straightforward tricks, other things take hard work. Modeling a human for example, Isn’t as easy as making a cube with a stack of modifiers (although that may be achievable 😉 ). Sometimes things take more hard work than skill… anyway, different topic for a different post. Today I’ talking about hand-painted textures. So what are these? Well, first of all, this is one of those things that takes hard work… But what is a hand-painted texture? Does this mean I walk over to an easel,  get out some paints, and paint textures? Not exactly. From what I understand, hand-painting involves the process of coming up with something in Photoshop, Gimp, or some other program that does not involve using real-life images, such as those from CGTextures. “What?!” You may say “Doing textures by mouse in Photoshop? I’ll bet that looks cheap and disgusting…”. Well, first off, some people have tablets which they use, and as for being cheap, well, I’ll let you be the judge of that 😉

I will show some textures I have been doing (well, I won’t show you all of them), and I hope you enjoy them! Note: although not watermarked, these textures are not to be sold or used for commercial work without my consent. However, feel free to use them in freeware stuff!

(Corrugation)              (Floor tiles)

         

 

 

 

 

So, what do you think? Not bad for just Photoshop, eh? 😛 These textures are pretty small, they are more for just game-making use, although they’d probably look good in a rendering, too. I hope you enjoy these textures, and are able to use them somehow!

-Stopsecret Design

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

2 thoughts on “Hand-Painting textures”

    1. Yeah, I recently used some other ones I made for a biplane, but haven’t done anything too fancy with these ones yet… Still, I think it’s a good start to making a whole collection of hand-painted textures eventually 🙂

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

