Cycles + Gimp tip (save on time!)


So, tonight I did some experimenting with Cycles. What’s so awesome about Cycles? The super good renders it cranks out! What stinks about it? Having to wait that long for a rendering… πŸ˜›

So, is there a workaround to this? That’s what I tried to find out… Yes, experimentation, trial and error. So I had this photo, taken at probably about 14-15 samples, and tried to get it too look good. I’ll let you judge if I did for yourself…

Having trouble seeing the images? Click on them to enlarge.

The Original

The Hand Painted Look

So in this example, Gimp’s smudge tool (I think I used the blur/sharpen tool as well.) was used. The result? not too bad looking, looks pretty cool actually, but very time consuming… (some areas are unfinished) πŸ˜›

Selective Blur

So, for this one, I used Gimp’s ‘Selective Gaussian Blur’ but as you may note, the grain is still visible (fail!) πŸ˜›

Gaussian Blur

On this one I selected the outside and blurred… Well, I guess it looks good, if you’re going for the ‘stylized’ look, but as you can see, still not too good looking.

Higher samples + Blur

Ok, without telling you the samples, try to guess:

Now verify your guess by selecting the white text beneath this line:

Well, you actually don’t really need this lol you could just look in the corner of the photo!

So how did I pullΒ thatΒ off at that many samples? The selective Gaussian blur in Gimp is very helpful when used under the right circumstances πŸ˜‰

Well, the last method is the one I’d personally recommend, so go for low samples, and use selective gaussian blur. Note: This probably does not work with 3d models with detailed textures, so be careful!

Hey, by the time I’m done writing all this, look at that! over 3,500 samples! Here’s the final product, feel free to compare!:

Well, that’s all for now, I hope you enjoyed!

-Stopsecret Design

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

2 thoughts on “Cycles + Gimp tip (save on time!)”

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

