3D Overlays in Real Life! (tutorial)


Well, may as well get this up sooner or later 😉  So, you may remember this post from awhile back: https://stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/robo-rampage/

So, has this happened to you before?:

“Ugh! that video! They blended in the 3d so nicely! I wish I could do that on Blender…”

Guess what folks? you can! 😀

Yes, I will explain, and you can follow along, using the steps below:

1. Get a nice photo to overlay in:

Pretty, no?

Anyways… 🙂

Be sure to set your render resolution to that of the photo…

2. Align your camera with the ‘floor’

So, I’ll explain in a photo:

So you see what I did here? I recommend using shift+f and then the w a s d and r and f keys to move your camera so the the ‘grid’ of the floor lines up with the ground.

And yes, running a little short on time here (daylight savings tommorow, don’t want to stay up too late :P), so I am going to use *gasp* the cliche Suzanne…

3. Add an object to your scene:

Yes, still tacky looking, but set up your scene and do one very important thing. So for this part I’m gonna be a bit hasty in my explanation, so try to follow along… Hit the ‘world’ panel, next, hit the ‘texture’ panel, add new texture, image or movie, use your image, set the influence on ‘horizon’ to 1, make sure it’s checked. Go back into the ‘world’ panel, check ‘paper sky’. Then render 😉

You may be looking over your rendering right now, cringing (yuck!):

4. Lighting

Ok, so you may now have averted you glare from your rendering to my blog post. Before you form a mob with pitchforks and torches to ransack my blog, please hear me out. What this scene lacks is (good) lighting. Sure, there are some tips for lighting, but this is one of those things you’ll have to work out on your own until it looks good. Use a sun if you need it, etc. Here’s my setup, with lighting:

Still not satisfied? Ok, ok, I’ll get to the real stuff… the shadows…

Here we go!

4. Shadows

Add a plane under your object, and create a new material. Down near the bottom, flip open the tab ‘shadow’. Now check ‘Shadows only’ setting it to ‘Shadow only’. Now render:

Not too bad… again. play with the lighting

You may even want to use soft shadows:

https://stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com/2011/05/29/stopsecret-tutorial-001-soft-shadows-in-blender/

And yes, that is a referral to one of my tutorials 😛

Ok, I’m gonna do a few things to get the final result, softer shadowing, compositing, other stuff…

Here’s my final result :

Well, I hope you enjoyed this tutorial. I better get some sleep in what with daylight savings and all… Questions, comments? Fell free to tell me what you think!

(Note, it usually helps to do this sort of a thing on a flat, smooth surface, unlike grass :P)

-Stopsecret Design

 

 

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

6 thoughts on “3D Overlays in Real Life! (tutorial)”

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

