The Real Stopsecret


Hello! So, just to let you know, there’s more to me than I’m letting on to…

You see, if you knew my previous line of work, you may have a little more respect for me… You may even be less surprised at the stuff I’ve been coming out with lately… My real name is Steve Mitchell, former 3d Production Assistant of a branch of Electronic Arts. I worked with them for awhile, mostly texturing and modeling for their sports series. My career ended after we finished NBA 2009. Why, would you ask, would I skip the $80,000 a year I was making with EA to pursue a self-employed route? Because of a dream, yes, a dream.

Working with EA was amazing, learning the 3d tools, and ins and outs of Photoshop. But here’s the thing. Working with talented people, a smooth pipeline, and cranking out some of the world’s best games was far too easy. I had always liked a challenge, so I sold my Lotus, and my condo on the beach, giving the proceeds to charity, and decided to work on my own. I bought this house in upstate New York, and have since gone to work on Stopsecret, my own business. This was my dream, to work from the ground up on a company I had made, to build a team of super talented peers, and create, if you will, my own EA.

How am I doing so far? Not as well as I would have hoped, but the challenge has motivated me! The renders you see on here are my worst renders. As a matter of fact, I have coined the term ‘blog-worthy’ to label any disgusting renders I have done πŸ˜‰

I could have bought Maya to do the modeling for my games, and I even considered the purchase of CryEngine 3 to make them, but there it was again, I wanted to choose the underdog, to support the lower sections of game development and art, in the same way I hoped they would support me building something great! πŸ™‚

So, all this leads me to an announcement I have been saving up. Did you notice that I have not been posting that much lately? Well, I’m working on….

Nebulous:

I have used all the artistry and tricks I’ve learned from months of Blender experience and Unity coding to create something truly great! I have developed (along with my team ;)) a MMOG space game called Nebulous, I have been on some minor forums as “SteveM2k9” posting about the development of this game. I have a small team and a private server on which we have done testing. We had a breakthrough in C# coding awhile ago that allowed us to render as much as 300 ships in one sector! Not only that, but it allows that same number of online players to be playing at the same time! The launch date is for the first day of spring this year. I really wanted to show you some of the awesome ship designs and space stations my team has been working on lately, but they have restricted me to silence (I am writing this while looking over my shoulder right now, it’s pretty risky :P) They even distrusted me so much that the game photos and the trailer are in an encrypted folder! The game features full planet reentry to the point where the player can walk on the surface of planets, talking to NPCs in procedurally generated cities! Oh wait, here comes Jack Noe (programming lead) gotta go for a second!

Whew!

He just wanted to know the file directory for the NPC controller scripts… πŸ˜›

Anyway, I can save the rest of this for the release date in June… Read this while you can, I’m gonna delete it in about three days before the team sees, then go back under my ambiguous cover… πŸ˜› Unitl then, sigining off!

Steve Stopsecret

 

Note: If you have not picked up on it by now, then go have your head examined

If you have still not picked up on it, go look at a calendar

picked up on it yet? If not, this is an April 1st joke, if you don’t know what april 1st is, go have yourΒ head examined immediately…

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

7 thoughts on “The Real Stopsecret”

  1. Wow, SS, never knew you had a Lotus πŸ˜›
    BTW, I always thought you were 16 or something. But as you have your own house in NY and drove in a Lotus, you has to be a bit older. PS, thanks for all (free) help you gived me. I really appreciate it. Thanks.
    Brick

    1. Hi Brick! I’m actually only 18 πŸ˜› I don’t know if you actually caught what the post says at the end and are just joking, or if you actually believe I own a Lotus πŸ˜› You may not have it in your country, but on April 1st in America, a lot of people do jokes like this. This post was basically a big joke πŸ˜›

      Reply to P.S:
      You’re welcome, Brick! πŸ™‚
      -SS

  2. I have something to say, SS. My dream, is the excact same as yours πŸ™‚ I wana learn more about Unity though, and Blender. Congratulations. And I feel sorry for the lotus man. Jk. πŸ˜›

  3. Well, since everyone’s commenting…

    I actually fell for this when you posted it (or somewhere around that time). Remember? You have just signed up for TLT and I was going to find out if you were good or not and I came across this post. πŸ˜›

    Good thing my brother pointed out the barely visible text at the bottom. I guess I need my head examined. πŸ˜›

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

