Blogs.


Ah, blogs.

They are interesting things, no? You get these views from random people, and if you’re good enough, you may get a lot of views. You can perhaps eventually make money off your blog if you advertise. You can have friendships with random people… But if you really think about it, is it worth time or effort? You may be a newcomer, or you may have been following this blog for awhile, but you may have noticed the decrease in posting on here.

You may follow another blog, and you may look at it, and say it’s a dead blog. That is, people don’t really post on it, and it seems at some point they just stopped posting on it altogether. This type of thing may disappoint you. I think decreases in blogging can be lead by a three things, not enough time, not enough interest, or restraint. Now, there are probably others out there, so if I you think of a good one, please comment πŸ™‚

In the first case, one may not post on their blog simply because they don’t have the time for it. Life may get too busy, things may get in the way, or maybe they have made so many commitments that blogging takes the back seat.

In the second case, you may find that people lost interest in their blog. Perhaps they just don’t like the subject they were blogging about anymore, or they found something that is more interesting.

The third case is when something constrains you from blogging. Let’s say you have plenty of time to blog and interest in what you;re blogging, but you can’t blog. Perhaps someone is almost always on the computer you want to use, or maybe your computer was recently thrown out of a 50-story office building. πŸ˜› There is case 3.

Now, you may be wondering why this blog here seems so quiet.

I would say it has to do with interest.

3d is a cool topic. However, there is more to life than 3d. One of the things is that I have been involved with my work on LEGO games. Also, I haven’t been doing a lot of Blender work lately. It may have disappointed you that you weren’t getting much updates on this blog. Are you glad to at least know some reasons? πŸ™‚ I’m also thinking of creating a blog soon where I could stick stuff other than 3d. But then, there’s the other thing. I have this blog, unity scribe, and I’m on the legend team… That’s a lot of blogs, folks, and do you expect me to post frequently on all of those? You may even be checking Unity Scribe and are disappointed there aren’t much updates there.

I’m not closing downΒ https://stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com/, orΒ http://unityscribe.wordpress.com/, but please don’t be too surprised if you don’t see many updates… even if it’s for a long time. Ok? πŸ™‚

Please, comment and give your thoughts. Have you stopped posting on one of your blogs? Is it for any of the reasons above? If you have answers to those questions, feel free to leave them below.

-Stopsecret Design

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

11 thoughts on “Blogs.”

  1. Blogs requires a lot of commitment. I was never able to run a blog, while I had tons of ideas and interests to write about. There’s also that I’m not that of a good writer. πŸ˜›

    I suggest to you to keep to blog and use it to blog about anything. The name doesn’t really refers to 3D and it’s a cool name! So I would use it! As for UnityScribe, you could just throw it away. Too many blogs is hard to manage and while it could maybe be better for SEO reasons to keep those tutorials separate from your main blog, if I was you I would put them on the same blogs. Maybe on a new page?

    Also, lost of interest is what I think happens the most often. People forget about their blog and works on other projects. That’s my problem. I have to much ideas and I start new projects, but I never finish them.

      1. UPS… that is exactly what I have. πŸ˜› But, my life is quite like that. I have an idea, I start working on it for a day and go to bed. The next day, I have a new idea and I just don’t feel like working on the old one, so I start a new project.

        I tried getting organize and so far it’s not that better. I’ll really have to implement a way like a to-do list or a plan so I work on 2 or 3 projects a day and that I focus on them.

        BTW, your models are very nice on the blog post you linked to. πŸ˜€

  2. I definitely recommend continuing to blog about whatever interests you at the moment, even if it’s completely different from what you made the blog for. I don’t need to tell you about the wonders of blogging – you said it yourself πŸ™‚
    Sure, it could be nice to have some focus in a blog, but I think we can be sure – even if some readers might not enjoy posts not related to 3D, the same readers, and everyone else, are definitely not going to better enjoy getting no posts about anything.

    Also, from personal experience – few things are as fun as writing a post about something outside the main theme of your blog, and suddenly getting likes from people you never imagined would be in your target audience.

    1. Thanks for posting your opinion on this πŸ˜‰ I think my blog will diversify as time continues. You may not see a ton of 3d stuff in new posts in the coming weeks πŸ˜›

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

