Procedural level


Well, I have this blog lying around here, I figure I may as well use it for something other than collecting dust (and views) πŸ˜›

So, you may see a random assortment of things from video game ventures etc. posted here. Just quick, to get things kicked off, I made a level generator that works when you input a texture and the texture’s size. The script then figures out how to generate the level based off that texture.

 

 

 

 

 

An example is given below:

 

 

It’s a simple 64 x 64 texture with various colors. Red blocks out sections, Blue lays stone, and white is ground. The black is elevated ground.

Shown below is what it made:

Yeah, yeah, probably looks a bit minecraft-like, but hey, I like the style! πŸ˜› Hope you enjoyed this small snippet, and look forward to more stuff in the future πŸ˜‰

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

7 thoughts on “Procedural level”

  1. I like it! πŸ˜€ Very Minecraft-ish, but I still like it (I don’t really like MC).

    I still think you should merge Unity Scribe into this blog. Just put the tutorials on pages underneath a Unity Scribe page. It would help with that “Blogs.” post you wrote. πŸ˜‰

      1. A Round Tuit, πŸ˜›

        Actually, if you would like, I can help you add the Unity Scribe stuff on here, Just ask Crash from Crash’s Universe. I fixed up his blog in about and hour and a half, but it was over a course of two days because I forgot to do some stuff before I told him to de-admin me the first time. πŸ˜›

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

