How should I put this?


(Textures thanks to Texturer and CGTextures)

Incomplete

Let’s just say, I’m a working man right now, and I don’t have a lot of free time lying around like I used to. The time I do have lying around I don’t exactly want to put into renders like these. πŸ˜› So, I’m postponing/getting rid of this whole render a week thing. It was a nice idea. If it were ever to become part of my career path, I might pick it up again. Anyway, enjoy this half-baked (har har), well…maybe notΒ evenΒ that much baked render. I got the idea from Andrew Price’s bread tutorial.

(begin random SS’s life commentary)

Speaking of food, it looks like I’m going to spend a lot of time near it working in my family’s diner. Β I guess I’m half coming to the realization that these 3d games, renders, are sort of a dream job. Please don’t read me wrong. I’m not totally bashing following your dream. Sometimes though, you may need a bit of compromise. Sometimes you may need to bend to meet what’s needed in the workforce. And you never know where life will lead you. I’m skilled in 3d, I can code in Unity, and I’ve found myself spending a lot of time in the back of a diner scrubbing dishes πŸ˜‰

Not trying to put you down if you see 3D in your future. Indeed, maybe someday I will get to follow my past dreams and make digital worlds. But maybe not. Maybe it will just be a hobby. Maybe I’ll find life itself more interesting. Maybe doing the less pleasant job (coding in general for a living) will get me further.

I was working in the diner. I was up front, talking with one of the customers. I was talking about how much work I had ahead of me. The man, an older man, said:

“It could be the rest of your life.”

Or words to that effect. And that sort of stuck with me. Maybe I will work in this sort of a capacity for the rest of my life. Maybe I will have to grind to live comfortably. And maybe that will give me more character than if opportunity just fell in my lap.

(end random SS’s life commentary)

That’s all for now!

-SS

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

7 thoughts on “How should I put this?”

  1. Well, it’s a nice render anyway. πŸ™‚

    Yea, an artist job is a lot of times just a dream. But you never know whre God will lead you.

    You never know, you could just make advertisements for your family diner! πŸ˜‰

  2. I told you to learn C#! Do you know how many business are hiring moderately skilled C# programmers to build software for them? A LOT. That’s what you get for not listening to me. πŸ˜›

    Seriously, you learn .NET right now and figure out that WPF stuff. Even entry-level programming jobs will earn you 60K USD. But… well, it isn’t exactly as fun as coding games, but still, lots of money in that…

    Now, you get any good at C++, Google and other tech companies are looking for software engineers skilled in math, computer science, hacking, and C/C++ πŸ˜‰ I hear they pay upwards of 100K for an entry-level (junior) software engineer. And their work environment is a LOT more fun. πŸ˜›

    1. Hmm, good food for thought πŸ˜› But I don’t think the diner will be looking for any software anytime soon (unless maybe you found a cheap way to automate cooking) πŸ˜›

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

