Back to the drawing board


Something a lot of you probably don’t know is that I’m actually not half bad at drawing. I used to draw a lot when I was little. I have decided to do drawing lately. I believe Andrew Price said ‘If you can’t draw it, then you can’t model it.’ Either that or he was quoting someone who I am now quoting as well… At any rate, drawing ought to help me out with my 3D art. Here’s some drawings I did. I may post more in the future as small posts:

Running people
Running people
Spaceship
Spaceship
Island hunter
Island hunter

 

 

Futuristic racer
Futuristic racer
Female head drawing
Female head drawing

Feel free (especially any experienced drawing readers) to tell me how I did!

Also, it really helps to use reference pictures from the internet. 😛

-Stopsecret

 

P.S: Running a new simple blog theme 😉

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

8 thoughts on “Back to the drawing board”

    1. You have to draw the image from different angles; then you bring it into your modeling application’s viewport. It’s still very difficult if you don’t know how to model though.

      1. The other way to do it is to sit down and block out a rough form as long as you have a picture in your mind of how it will look. Then you refine that form until you have what you want. Maybe I will do a tutorial on it 😉

      2. That is exactly what it is. I has not took the time to learn blender. People say a draw neatly, but i do not know if i draw so well as Carl Barks or Don Rosa, since there is always room for imrpovement.

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

