Express Yourself…or Your 3d Model!


Yesterday I decided to model a face. I found a tutorial that showed someone making a face, and made my own. I used my own face as reference (just to let you know, I don’t really look like the face you see in the render). It seemed to come out pretty well. Then I animated it. I was sort of inspired after seeing some video game facial animation.


Here are some of the techniques I used:

Setup
Setup
  1. Armature head
    1. The head had a simple rig to control head movement
  2. Eye constraints
    1. There was an empty object a ways off
    2. Both eyes were given constraints to track to this object.
  3. Shape keys
    1. Facial expression was controlled by shape keys
    2. Key frames were given to the power of the shape keys
  4. Eyes
    1. The eyes have a modified texture from this post: LINK
    2. Their reflection map is below
Wireframe
Wireframe
Eye reflection (different format)
Eye reflection (different format)

I release the eye reflection under Creative Commons 0.

Thanks for reading, enjoy the video!

-Stopsecret

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

7 thoughts on “Express Yourself…or Your 3d Model!”

    1. Beaver : “Yeah, ‘cept I was sorta figgering how that doesn’t really look like me. Seein as I actually have a bit of hair.”
      Wally : “Gee beav, you might look creepy too if someone made your face out of triangles”
      How was that impression? πŸ˜›
      But seriously, I don’t really look like that πŸ˜›

  1. I’ve been looking for a free way to do this via kinect, the cheapest is brekel pro face
    for $99, Kinects are $80 I think. Brekel gives you 100 free sessions in motion builder,
    haven’t had time to try it yet. Waylon, have you looked at Plygame? http://plyoung.com
    I made a pretty good game bogwood down with it, see my site.

  2. How do we know it doesn’t look like you? Show us the reference image. πŸ˜›
    Lol, Just kidding. πŸ˜‰

    Nice modeling skills! I tried doing that with my face a while back ad it was a disaster…

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)

