Stopsecret Spaceship Shield Shader (SSSSSS)


Hi all! Happy black friday! You wanna talk about discounts? this one has been marked off by 100% Take that Wal-mart! I’ve been playing around with Strumpy Shader Editor, a free shader editor for Unity, and I came up with a cool-looking spaceship shield shader. So without further ado, here is the Stopsecret Spaceship Shield Shader (SSSSSS):

Click for web player (dropbox)

Click for .unitypackage (dropbox)

Enjoy! How did I do it? Well, I used fresnel to highlight the edges, also, the edges are emissive, giving a nice shield looking glow. I also added two textures, I’ll explain why later. Here’s how you use it:

  1. Make a new material and attach it to the object of choice
  2. Give it the ‘rim’ shader
  3. Add the two textures, if you want more variation, I recommend setting the second texture to a different tiling then the first.
  4. Attach the ‘Shield Scroll’ script to the object of choice.
  5. Setting Scroll X and Scroll Y changes the scroll values for the textures, making them look like they are charged with energy. The two textures scroll at different speeds as well, adding just an extra hint of realism.

I hope you enjoyed! If you did, please leave a comment below, it keeps developers like me motivated 🙂

-Stopsecret Design

Published by

waylonlathern

(stopsecretdesign.wordpress.com) I have been doing 3d for awhile now and have become skilled in both the worlds of 3d design and game development. As such, i have created a blog to show my artistic talent and share tutorials with others :)

5 thoughts on “Stopsecret Spaceship Shield Shader (SSSSSS)”

  1. Not sure if this is still active, but was wondering if there was a way to get it to appear when hit by an enemy bullet or asteroid or something similar. Along with maybe being brighter and dissipating from that point

  2. Hello ! The result look really great, but I can’t find any textures in your package… Could you point them to me ? Thanks a lot !

    1. Hi Didier! Thanks for commenting! 🙂
      I believe the texture I used is just the blue colored water texture that comes with Unity’s water. Import the unity basic water and try using the texture in there.

Comments and feedback are appreciated :)